Home Page

Friends of Sun Hill Infant


July 2016


As we come to the end of another brilliant year I wanted to send you a quick update on The Friends following our AGM on Tuesday 11th July and a bit of a heads up on the exciting things we have planned for the Autumn Term.


Sadly we will be saying goodbye to Nikki Morgan as Poppy moves on to Juniors. Nikki has been a fabulous Vice Chair and provided both myself and the Friends with a huge amount of support over this year and years and she will be greatly missed.


I am delighted however to let you know that Hannah Rose was elected as Vice Chair for next year of The Friends and with her amazing creativity I am really looking forward to the new and exciting ideas she will bring for next year. So, watch this space! Hannah has Owen in Year 1 and Amelie in Year F so is very invested in the school’s future and how the Friends can support.


As you know all the money we raise is given directly to the school and purchases additional learning resources and facilities, used in the classroom by your children, helping our wonderful teachers continue to provide the best possible education for all your children.


I am also delighted to let you know that Lucie Seward and Geoff Newhouse will continue in their posts as will I but we are saying good bye to Kate Walton and Sara Wood from our café team and Candice Collins and Heidi Rhynes all of who see their children move on to Juniors and whose help and support we will miss greatly.


Our café team for 2017/8 will be made up of Jo Parish (Harrison Year 1) Jo Knight (Harry Year 1) and Claire Imhofe (Maiya Year F) who alongside Helen Hall (Eve Year 1) will be in charge of all things baking and serving related to ensure that Café every Friday continues to be the great success that is has been this year. Should you wish to be added to the baking or serving rota please contact FOSHI2016@yahoo.com and I will pass on your details to them for next year.


So to confirm the core committee for 2017/18 as follows..

President – Mrs Owen Jones

Chair – Jenny Tabrah

Vice Chair - Hannah Rose

Treasurer – Geoff Newhouse

Secretary – Lucie Seward

Café Co-ordinators –Jo Parish, Jo Knight, Claire Imhofe and Helen Hall



Moving on to next term I thought it would be good to let you know what The Friends have planned so you can get the dates in your diary!

Friday 15th September – The first Friends meeting on 2017/18. 9am in the Sunshine Learning Space to be followed by….

Friday 15th September – 10am First Bazaar Sub-committee meeting, please come along if you would like to find out more to do with helping organise the Bazaar, a perfect project if you can only help for a little bit next year!

Sunday 15th October – Apple Day, a stall will be run by FOSHI

Saturday 2nd December – The Christmas Bazaar!



More information on all of these events will follow in September but please pop them on your calendar – they will be here before you know it!

All that’s left for me to say is thank you to you all and have wonderful summer!


Best Wishes




Jenny Tabrah

James Year 1


March 2017


Race Night a runaway success!


Over 60 parents, friends and family enjoyed an evening of fun, food and frolicking with horses at Sun Hill Infants Race Night. All the horses were generously sponsored by Sun Hill families and the races by local businesses.


The evening began with drinks, nibbles and chat then an introduction to the proceedings for all novice jockeys. The hall had been set up and transformed into the evenings race track by our dedicated Chair and vice chair of Friends, Jenny Tabrah and Nikki Morgan. A tote was set up for bets to be placed on each race and jockeys selected from the audience at random. The races were fun, frantic and very competitive as you can see!



The Turner Family won the first 2 races, The Coleman Family Race 3, Leon Gardner Race 4, Year 2 Class Race 5 and Lily Curtis Race 6 and also The Final. Each winning horse and jockey received fabulous winner’s rosettes and the Champion Jockey Mr Huw Powell is seen here with his winner’s trophy.



A delicious fish and chip supper and bar for refreshments kept all the jockeys and their supporters energised and up for the challenge – all you really have to do is reel in a wooden horse but there is a lot of giggles to be had in the process! The 7 race evening was a lot of fun and raised a fantastic £650 for new home learning equipment for children and parents of Sun Hill Infants.


Thank you to everyone who supported the event and to all the Friends of Sun Hill who volunteered their time.


Words and photographs kindly supplied by Kirstie-Ann Turner